Compare nursing-home data by state.
49 state reports available. Every figure below comes from its linked edition. Open a report free; the first read needs no account.
Swipe across the table to see rates and editions. State names stay in view.
| State | Facilities | Licensed beds | Occupancy | Median Medicaid rate per resident day | Report edition / rate file |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AlabamaRead report → | 224 | 26,504 | 83% | Not reported | October 2026 |
| ArizonaRead report → | 140 | 15,994 | 77% | Not reported | October 2026 |
| ArkansasRead report → | 221 | 24,169 | 70% | Not reported | October 2026 |
| CaliforniaRead report → | 1,165 | 114,991 | 88% | $323 | October 2026 · January 2026 rate file |
| ColoradoRead report → | 210 | 19,749 | 80% | $282 | October 2026 · July 2026 rate file |
| ConnecticutRead report → | 191 | 22,532 | 87% | $336 | October 2026 · July 2025 rate file |
| DelawareRead report → | 44 | 4,717 | 84% | Not reported | October 2026 |
| FloridaRead report → | 694 | 84,537 | 89% | $303 | October 2026 · October 2026 rate file |
| GeorgiaRead report → | 356 | 39,462 | 81% | $277 | October 2026 · October 2026 rate file |
| HawaiiRead report → | 43 | 4,248 | 81% | $503 | October 2026 · July 2026 rate file |
| IdahoRead report → | 80 | 6,115 | 74% | $227 | October 2026 · October 2026 rate file |
| IllinoisRead report → | 666 | 84,984 | 74% | $255 | October 2026 · October 2026 rate file |
| IndianaRead report → | 507 | 48,825 | 75% | $309 | October 2026 · July 2026 rate file |
| IowaRead report → | 387 | 25,131 | 80% | $303 | October 2026 · July 2026 rate file |
| KansasRead report → | 296 | 18,031 | 83% | $317 | October 2026 · July 2026 rate file |
| KentuckyRead report → | 267 | 25,400 | 86% | $380 | October 2026 · July 2026 rate file |
| LouisianaRead report → | 265 | 32,239 | 74% | Not reported | October 2026 |
| MaineRead report → | 78 | 5,830 | 87% | Not reported | October 2026 |
| MarylandRead report → | 221 | 27,235 | 86% | Not reported | October 2026 |
| MassachusettsRead report → | 341 | 40,920 | 82% | $344 | October 2026 · October 2026 rate file |
| MichiganRead report → | 422 | 44,006 | 82% | Not reported | October 2026 |
| MinnesotaRead report → | 338 | 24,057 | 85% | Not reported | October 2026 |
| MississippiRead report → | 202 | 17,511 | 85% | $286 | October 2026 · July 2026 rate file |
| MissouriRead report → | 487 | 50,053 | 71% | $246 | October 2026 · January 2026 rate file |
| MontanaRead report → | 61 | 4,997 | 68% | $291 | October 2026 · July 2026 rate file |
| NebraskaRead report → | 180 | 13,715 | 72% | $267 | October 2026 · July 2026 rate file |
| NevadaRead report → | 66 | 7,235 | 86% | Not reported | October 2026 |
| New HampshireRead report → | 73 | 7,326 | 81% | $271 | October 2026 · July 2026 rate file |
| New JerseyRead report → | 348 | 50,998 | 83% | $282 | October 2026 · July 2026 rate file |
| New MexicoRead report → | 68 | 6,891 | 84% | Not reported | October 2026 |
| New YorkRead report → | 593 | 111,413 | 89% | $282 | October 2026 · January 2026 rate file |
| North CarolinaRead report → | 419 | 43,850 | 83% | $357 | October 2026 · October 2026 rate file |
| North DakotaRead report → | 72 | 4,909 | 93% | $401 | October 2026 · January 2026 rate file |
| OhioRead report → | 922 | 81,115 | 84% | $280 | October 2026 · July 2026 rate file |
| OklahomaRead report → | 283 | 27,555 | 63% | $246 | October 2026 · July 2026 rate file |
| OregonRead report → | 128 | 10,602 | 70% | Not reported | October 2026 |
| PennsylvaniaRead report → | 656 | 83,064 | 82% | $254 | October 2026 · October 2026 rate file |
| Rhode IslandRead report → | 72 | 8,190 | 84% | $243 | October 2026 · October 2025 rate file |
| South CarolinaRead report → | 187 | 19,589 | 87% | $252 | October 2026 · October 2025 rate file |
| South DakotaRead report → | 96 | 5,848 | 84% | $249 | October 2026 · July 2026 rate file |
| TennesseeRead report → | 303 | 34,613 | 74% | Not reported | October 2026 |
| TexasRead report → | 1,177 | 133,493 | 66% | Not reported | October 2026 |
| UtahRead report → | 97 | 8,379 | 70% | $248 | October 2026 · October 2026 rate file |
| VermontRead report → | 33 | 2,951 | 83% | $405 | October 2026 · October 2026 rate file |
| VirginiaRead report → | 289 | 32,648 | 88% | $255 | October 2026 · October 2025 rate file |
| WashingtonRead report → | 193 | 18,781 | 78% | $367 | October 2026 · September 2026 rate file |
| West VirginiaRead report → | 123 | 10,717 | 90% | $381 | October 2026 · July 2026 rate file |
| WisconsinRead report → | 323 | 24,756 | 71% | $415 | October 2026 · July 2026 rate file |
| WyomingRead report → | 36 | 2,938 | 68% | $240 | October 2026 · October 2026 rate file |
No matching state. Try its name or two-letter abbreviation.
These are edition snapshots, with their report and rate-file periods beside them. Occupancy is rounded; Medicaid rates cover the facilities in each state's file. Different periods and payment methods limit direct comparisons. Read the definitions and coverage.
How does the country compare?
The national edition has its own date and coverage: October 2026. It is not a total or average of the state rows above.
Put the market in context.
A state average is a starting point. Follow the question that matters to you.
Know what each number measures.
Read the sources, coverage and definitions
Facilities and beds. The state headlines use CMS Provider Information: certified nursing facilities and their reported licensed beds. This is the CMS nursing-home universe, not assisted living or every senior-housing property.
Occupancy. The state headline divides summed CMS average residents by summed licensed beds and rounds to a whole percent. It is not an average of the states' percentages. It does not tell you how many beds are staffed or available for admission today.
Medicaid rates. A row shows the report's median daily rate among facilities covered by its published state rate file. Each report names the effective period and coverage. States use different payment methods; missing figures mean not reported here, not a zero payment.
Cost reports and staffing. State reports also read Medicare cost reports and CMS staffing data. Annual occupancy uses patient days and available bed days; its median is a different measure from the CMS headline. Use each section's fiscal years, filing counts and source dates.
Edition versus observation date. The table repeats the published report summaries, not a new live-data query. The edition is when the report was prepared; CMS observations and rate periods can be older. Open the report's Sources section for those dates. Missing state editions are not treated as zero or added to a national total.
Who publishes this. SNFRadar and its team publish this library through 3G Healthcare Real Estate. Ask us for a number when your question needs a different geography, period or definition.
What stays private. The reports describe the market from CMS and state filings. Who owns a building is a conversation with us, never a page.
Cite a figure. Name SNFRadar, the state or national report, the exact edition shown, and the measure; link to that report. Include the underlying rate or filing period when relevant. The CSV carries a source link and edition on every row. Journalists: the press room has the kit.
Straight answers.
How many skilled nursing facilities are there in the United States?
The October 2026 national edition reports 14,690 certified skilled nursing facilities with 1.57M licensed beds, at 80% occupancy. State editions may cover a different period; use each report's sources for the underlying dates.
Where do the numbers come from?
CMS Provider Information and Care Compare, federal ownership and change-of-ownership filings, county property records, and each state's published Medicaid rate files, read as they are released. Every report names its sources and its as-of date.
Are the state reports free?
Yes. 49 state reports and the national edition are free to read; the first read needs no account. Signing in keeps your states, your buildings and your documents in one place.
How often are the reports updated?
As the underlying data changes: rate files when a state posts them, CMS files when CMS releases them, legislation as it moves. Each report carries its edition and the rate file it reads.
How is nursing-home occupancy measured?
The state headline uses CMS average residents divided by licensed beds, aggregated across the state and rounded to a whole percent. A Medicare cost report instead measures patient days divided by available bed days for a facility's fiscal year. A median of those filings answers a different question from the state headline.
Can I compare Medicaid rates across states?
The table shows each report's median daily rate for the facilities covered by its rate file. Effective dates, covered facilities and payment methods differ by state. Use the source report's coverage and rate period before comparing; the median is not what every nursing home receives.
Where can I find nursing-home cost reports and staffing data?
Open a state report for the market's cost-report benchmarks and staffing analysis, then use Buildings for an individual facility. The report identifies the filing periods and sample sizes; a CMS staffing snapshot and an annual cost report cover different periods.
Do the reports show who owns a building?
No. The reports describe the market from CMS and state filings. Ownership is a conversation with us, never a page.
